Petron selects NU’s Santiago as No. 1 pick in PSL draft; AirAsia makes La Salle’s Maraño No. 2


MANILA – The first and only club volleyball league in the country just got bigger.

Philippine Superliga (PSL) held its first-ever players draft Wednesday afternoon at the NBA Café in SM Aura, in Taguig City. The Petron Blaze Spikers selected Dindin Santiago of National University as the top overall pick, while Air Asia – the newest team in the league – opted for Aby Maraño of De La Salle University as the second pick.

Santiago is a 6-2 quick hitter who led the Lady Bulldogs to their first back-to-back Final Four appearances in the UAAP. Maraño, a two-time UAAP MVP, will be reunited with her former collegiate teammates, and with Coach Ramil de Jesus.

RC Cola selected third and went with Iari Yongco, Cagayan Valley made Janine Marciano the fourth overall pick, and Jamenea Ferrer was taken fifth by PLDT MyDSL.

Here's the complete draft result list:

Round 1

  1. Din-Din Santiago (NU) – Petron

  2. Aby Maraño (DLSU) – Air Asia

  3. Iari Yongco (DLSU-D) – RC Cola

  4. Janine Marciano (SBC) – Cagayan Valley

  5. Jamenea Ferrer (ADMU) – PLDT MyDSL

  6. Norie Jane Diaz (UPHSD) – Cignal

  7. Christine Agno (FEU) – Generica-Army

Round 2

  1. Mina Aganon (NU) – Petron

  2. Wensh Tiu (DLSU) – AirAsia

  3. Jill Gustilo (AdU) – RC Cola

  4. Charlene Gillego (UMak) – Cagayan Valley

  5. Sasa Devanadera (SSC-R) – PLDT MyDSL

  6. Michiko Castaneda (UP) - Cignal

  7. Joyce Palad (UP) - Generica-Army

Round 3

  1. Mayette Zapanta (AdU) – Petron

  2. May Macatuno (AdU) – AirAsia

  3. Toni Faye Tan (UP) – RC Cola

Round 4

  1. Ariana Angustia (EAC) – AirAsia

  2. Southlyn Ramos (UP) – RC Cola


Follow us on Twitter: @SolarSportsDesk


Sports Desk Online Sports Desk Online Twitter: @sportsdeskph

Facebook Comment

Sports Desk Poll

Who do you think will win the UAAP MVP award of Season 77?

View results

Recommended Stories